Apply for your marijuana business license November 18 through December 20, 2013
Marijuana licenses are not distributed on a first come, first served basis. All applications received or postmarked by December 20, 2013 will be reviewed. Applications submitted after December 20 will be returned.
Is there anything I should do now?
If you are forming a corporation or limited liability company (LLC), you must register with the Washington Secretary of State's (SOS) office. Register now. The Liquor Control Board (LCB) will not issue a license to a corporation or LLC that is not registered with SOS as a domestic entity.
How do I apply for a marijuana business license?
The fastest and easiest way to apply is online.
Pay using E-check or a MasterCard, Visa, or American Express credit or debit card.
(Gift cards and refillable cards cannot be used.)
- By mail:
You must also pay all required application fees and your license application must be approved by the Washington State Liquor Control Board (LCB).
What will it cost?
All license applications must include:
- A $250 nonrefundable fee for each marijuana endorsement you apply for (producer, processor, or retailer).
- A $19 nonrefundable fee for filing the business license application.
- A $5 nonrefundable fee for each trade name you register.
Depending on your business, other fees (some or all nonrefundable) may also apply, such as:
What are my risks?
If you aren't approved for a license by LCB, you will lose any nonrefundable fees.
Also, according to LCB:
- The number of retailer licenses is limited; if too many apply, a lottery will be held for the eligible applicants.
- Getting a license doesn’t guarantee that you can operate your business. Local laws may apply. LCB may issue a license even if the local authority has a marijuana moratorium in place.
- I-502 also limits the size of the canopy grown by all marijuana producers to 2 million square feet. If the qualifying applications for producers exceed that limit, each producer license issued will have the square footage reduced proportionately.
What else do I need to know?
You should know:
- Why the Liquor Control Board may deny an application.
- Whether the local jurisdiction at your business location will allow marijuana businesses. Contact your local jurisdiction.
- The distance restrictions for your business location.
- The number of marijuana retailer licenses available in any city or county is limited. If the number of applications exceeds the licenses available, the Liquor Control Board will hold a lottery for the eligible applicants.
- That no individual (principal) or business (entity) may have more than three marijuana licenses. Also, no individual or business can hold more than 33 percent of the retail licenses in any county or city that is allocated three or more licenses.
- Retail marijuana licenses cannot be combined with producer or processor licenses. However, one owner may have both a producer and a processor license.
- The LCB will approve or deny all completed applications submitted on time.
- Information regarding medicinal marijuana can be found on Department of Health’s website.
When will the LCB begin issuing licenses?
There is no timeline established for the issuance of licenses. Visit the LCB I-502 web page or join the LCB listserv for the latest information.
What happens if I am approved for a marijuana license?
You will receive an electronic billing statement requesting payment of the $1,000 license fee for each license. Applicants approved for both a processor and producer license will need to pay $2,000. This covers the license fee(s) for your first year of operation.