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Notice to Liquor License Applicants 
 

You May Be Eligible for a Temporary License 
 
The Washington State Liquor Control Board offers a temporary license. If you qualify, this temporary 
license could reduce your waiting time by allowing you to sell alcohol during the time Liquor Control 
Board staff completes the processing of your liquor license application for your permanent license.   
 
A temporary license is only a temporary approval pending final processing and approval of a permanent 
liquor license by the Liquor Control Board. You should not assume or rely on the granting of a permanent 
liquor license following the processing of your application based upon issuance of the temporary license. 
You should also not assume or rely on the granting of additional temporary licenses after issuance of the 
first one. 
 

Requirements for issuance of a temporary license 
 Return a signed Temporary License Acknowledgment form. 

 The Liquor Control Board must have received your liquor license fee from the Department of 
Revenue.  The charge for the time you operate on this temporary license will be taken from this fee 
when the Liquor Control Board approves the issuance of a permanent license.  

 All principals must have cleared a criminal history background check. Your Liquor License 
Investigator will tell you who must submit a Personal/Criminal History Statement.  

 The Liquor Control Board must have received notice from your city or county local official and from 
any school, church, or public institution within 500 feet of your premises indicating they do not object 
to your license, or the 20/60-day time limit must have passed with no objection.   

 If required for your application type, the public posting period of 14 days must have elapsed. 

 All acknowledgment forms requested in the required documents letter must be completed and 
received. 

 There cannot be any pending liquor violations against you or any of the principals of the applying 
entity.  

 A significant liquor violation history against you or any principals may be grounds for the Liquor 
Control Board to not issue a temporary license or to revoke one already issued. 

 Complete the online briefing on liquor laws and rules at: http://www.liq.wa.gov/enforcement/licensee-
briefings  

 Your Liquor License Investigator will let you know if you need to submit a floor plan or operating plan. 
If so, the floor plan or operating plan must be received and approved.   

NOTE: This list is subject to change without notice. 
 

How to Apply for a Temporary License 
 
If you would like to apply for this temporary license, please sign the acknowledgment form on the next 
page and return it to your Liquor License Investigator. Issuance of the temporary license is not automatic 
upon receipt of the signed form. You must contact your investigator to request issuance of the temporary 
license. 
 

Please keep a copy of this page for your records. 
  

http://www.liq.wa.gov/enforcement/licensee-briefings
http://www.liq.wa.gov/enforcement/licensee-briefings
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Temporary License Acknowledgment  
 
I am applying for a Temporary License (TL) from the Washington State Liquor Control Board. In applying 
for this temporary license, I acknowledge the following on behalf of myself and any other principals of the 
liquor license application: 

 I understand that issuance of this temporary license is only a temporary approval pending final 
processing and approval of a permanent liquor license by the Liquor Control Board. I understand that 
I cannot assume or rely on the granting of a permanent liquor license following the Liquor Control 
Board’s processing of my application based upon issuance of the temporary license.   

 I understand that I cannot assume or rely on the granting of additional temporary licenses after 
issuance of the first one. 

 I understand that if the Liquor Control Board denies my permanent liquor license that I must 
immediately cease selling alcohol under the temporary license. I further understand that I may 
not be able to return my alcohol stock to the distributor or to the retail store. Reasons for denial 
include but are not limited to: failure to meet basic licensing requirements, objection from the local 
authority, objection from a church, school or other public institution within 500 feet of the premises; 
questionable source of funds; indicators of hidden ownership; conviction of a felony of any type; 
conviction of gross or simple misdemeanor involving liquor or drugs, or a series of violations that 
show a disregard for liquor laws and regulations. 

 I understand that I will operate under this temporary license solely at my own risk, regardless of 
the time it takes to process the liquor license application. Risks may include but are not limited to: 
funds expended or dedicated for costs related to leasing, equipment, insurance, etc. 

 I understand that I am subject to the authority and powers of the Liquor Control Board while selling 
liquor under this temporary license. 

 I understand that any violations of liquor laws or rules that occur during the time I hold this 
temporary license will be recorded on the liquor violation history of all principals of this 
application and may affect the Liquor Control Board’s approval of my permanent license or cause the 
TL to be revoked. I understand that such violations will be considered in the assessment of a penalty 
if any future violations are committed during the temporary licensing period or after issuance of my 
permanent liquor license, under the provisions of WAC 314-29. 

 I understand that if I, or any principal or employee, sell, serve, or permit the consumption of alcohol at 
my business after this temporary license has expired, but before final approval of my permanent 
liquor license, I am in violation of state law that prohibits selling alcohol without a liquor license.   

 

NOTE: Issuance of this temporary license is not automatic upon receipt of this signed form. You 
must contact your Liquor License Investigator to request issuance of this temporary license. 
 
 

 

Licensing and Regulation 
PO Box 43098  
Olympia WA  98504-3098 
Phone: (360) 664-1600  
Fax: (360) 753-2710 
www.lcb.wa.gov 

      

License Number 

      

UBI Number 

      

Trade Name 

             

Print Name:   Title  (for example: Corporate President, Vice 

President, Secretary, Treasurer or Sole 
Proprietor, LLC Member/Manager, Partner) 

        

Signature   Date 


