
State of Washington
Business Licensing Service
PO Box 9034
Olympia, WA  98507-9034
1-800-451-7985

Collection Agency, Branch Office, or Out-Of-State Office
Addendum

Please read the next page for complete application instructions.

Owner/business name

UBI number

A	 Office contact information
Name of contact person who works at the location	 (Area code) telephone number

Location address as shown on Business License Application  street or route, city, state, zip code

B	 Sole proprietor/officer/partners/general manager information

In this state or any other jurisdiction, or (have) any business owners, any persons with controlling interest in this 
business, or the business entity:

1.	 Within the last 10 years, defaulted or been convicted of or entered a plea of no contest to a gross
	 misdemeanor or felony crime? (Don't include traffic offenses.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes    No

2.	 Currently under indictment, or is there a criminal complaint, charge, or information pending against 
	 you?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                              Yes    No

3.	 Within the last 10 years, had any action (fine, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken 
	 against any professional or occupational license, certification, or permit held by you?  . . . . . . . . . . . . .               Yes    No

4. Within the last 10 years, had any civil court order, verdict, or judgment entered against you? . . . . . . . .          Yes    No

5.	 Petitioned for bankruptcy? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes    No

If the answer to any of these questions is Yes, please attach a letter of explanation to this form. Include the name of 
the person or business involved, charge(s), date of conviction, civil judgment or order, county jurisdiction, state and 
disposition of charges.

C	 Business bank accounts

1.	 The collection agency must have a bank account with at least $5,000 available for the use of the business.
	 (RCW 19.16.245)
Name of bank with at least $5,000 asset account	 Account number

Bank address  Street or route, city, state, zip code

2.	 Each collection agency is also required to set up a "Customer's Trust Fund Account" for money that was collected on
	 behalf of clients and that is to be distributed to clients. (RCW 19.16.240)
Name of bank with trust fund account	 Account number

Bank address  Street or route, city, state, zip code

D	 Client information

1. Do you currently have clients or plan to solicit businesses located in Washington State? . . . . . . . . . . . .              Yes    No

2.	 Are you applying as a debt buyer? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                       Yes    No
(See definition of client and debt buyer on page 2)

Upon filing, this document and the application become a public record subject to public disclosure provisions. 
(RCW 42.56)

For assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, visit http://business.wa.gov/BLS or call 1-800-451-7985. Teletype (TTY) users may call 360-705-6718.
BLS-700-335 (03/28/16) 	



BLS-700-377 (04/14/16) 

Definitions

Client:  The business or person on whose behalf you will 
collect claims.

Collection Agency Endorsement
Choose this endorsement if:
•	 Your main office is in Washington State or
•	 Your main office is located outside Washington State, 

and you have, or plan to have, clients that are located 
in Washington State

Debt Buyer:  Any person or entity engaged in the 
business of purchasing delinquent or charged off debts for 
collection purposes, whether it collects the debts itself, or 
hires a third party for collection or an attorney for litigation 
to collect the debts.

Out-of-State Collection Agency Endorsement
Choose this endorsement if:
•	 Your main office and all branch offices are located 

outside Washington State, and
•	 You have NO clients that are located in Washington 

State, and
•	 You are contacting debtors that live in Washington 

State who owe money to your out of state clients.

Instructions 

1.	 Select the correct endorsement and fee.
The type of endorsement you need is based on the 
location of your clients. See Definitions above.

Collection Agency Endorsement..........................$850

Collection Agency Branch Endorsement..............$550

Out-of-State Collection Agency Endorsement.....$425* 

Out-of-State Collection Agency  
Branch Endorsement...........................................$275*

*	 The endorsement fee for an Out-of-State Collection 
Agency License is waived if the state where the 
collection agency (main or branch office) is located 
requires a license or registration but does not require 
a fee for similar out-of-state collection agencies. To 
have the license fee waived, include a copy of the 
regulations from your home state.

2. 	 Complete the following items and submit them 
with your fee.
•	 Business License Application;
•	 Collection Agency Addendum (page one of this 

form);
•	 Personal / Corporate Financial Statement form that 

shows:
•	 The liabilities and assets of the agency in one of 
	 the three months prior to application.
	 Example: If you are applying in May, we will 

accept a financial statement completed for the 
February, March or April time periods.

•	 $7,500 or more in cash or its equivalent
•	 $5,000 of the cash must be deposited in a bank 

account used to operate the business.
•	 $7,500 or more net worth.

•	 $5,000 bond or cash deposit** (in the form of a 
cashier's check payable to State Treasurer); and 

•	 List of persons with more than 20% interest in the 
business.

**	 A bond is not required for an out-of-state collection 
agency if the agency's home state already requires a 
bond or similar legal alternative for collection agencies. 
To waive the Washington bonding requirement, 
enclose proof that your bond is current and a copy of 
the regulations from your home state for review.
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