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State of Washington
Business Licensing Service
PO Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034
1-800-451-7985

Private Investigative Agency/Principal
Addendum

This addendum may only be submitted as an attachment to the Business License Application.

You may use this form to apply for both the agency and principal endorsements.
Applicants must be at least 18 years old for an unarmed endorsement and at least 21 years for an armed endorsement.
Applicants must submit electronic fingerprints (see below).
Corporations and limited liability companies (see page 3 for other filing requirements).

This is an application for: (check one, and enter into Business License Application endorsements/fees section)
  Agency with armed principal – $700
  Agency with unarmed principal – $600
  Partner, armed – $300
  Partner, unarmed – $200

Business information
Business/firm name or trade name	 (Area code) Business telephone number

Washington State business address

City	 State	 ZIP code

Business mailing address (if different)

City	 State	 ZIP code

Agency principal or partner information
Principal or partner name (Last, First, Middle initial)	

Date of birth	 Gender	        Social Security number	 Citizenship status

	       Male             Female		    U.S. citizen    Resident alien
Requirement under which you will be applying for license: (check one)

  Three years of experience in private investigation or a related field (complete “Experience” next page)
  Examination (complete “Examination scheduling” next page)

All private investigators must have fingerprint-based background checks. For information about the fingerprinting and background               
check process, go to http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/fingerprinting.html. 

Applicant personal data
  If you are not sure of your record, please do the research before you apply. Application fees are non-refundable.
  In this state or any other jurisdiction, are (have) any business owners, any persons with controlling interest in this                   
  business, or the business entity:

1. Within the last 10 years, had any action (fine, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken  
against any professional or occupational endorsement, certification, or permit held by you?  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .              Yes    No

2. Currently under indictment, or is there a criminal complaint, charge or information pending  
against you?  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  Yes    No

3.  Within the last 10 years, defaulted or been convicted of or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor 
 or felony crime? (Do not include traffic offenses.)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                                    Yes    No

If you answered yes to question 3, include details on page 2

UBI number

Owner name

Fingerprinting	
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Applicant personal data (continued)

        What were you convicted of?         Date	 Name of court		              City and state		           Misdemeanor,

	 gross misdemeanor, or felony?

	

To show additional convictions, attach pages.

Experience (Complete this section only if you are applying on the basis of your experience)
Document your experience related to private investigation beginning with your most recent or current position.

Type of experience (Manager, supervisor, administrator)	 From (Month-day-year)	 To (Month-day-year)

Company name

Company address (Number and street, city, state, ZIP code) 

Type of experience (Manager, supervisor, administrator)	 From (Month-day-year)	 To (Month-day-year)

Company name

Company address (Number and street, city, state, ZIP code) 

To show additional experience, attach pages.

Exam scheduling
Exams are given at driver licensing offices across the state. Select the location where you would like to take your exam,  putting 
a “1” for your first choice and a “2” for your second choice. A licensing representative will contact you for scheduling.

Bel-Red	 Kent	 Puyallup	 Union Gap

Bellingham	 Lynwood	 Renton	 Vancouver (136th Ave)

Bremerton	 Olympia	 Seattle (25th Ave)	 Walla Walla

Clarkston	 Omak	 Smokey Point	 Wenatchee

Everett	 Parkland	 Spokane (Sprague Ave)	

Federal Way	 Port Angeles	 Sunnyside	

	 Kennewick	 Port Townsend			  Tacoma (Yakima Ave) 

Insurance, bonding, and firearms certification
Prior to approving your endorsement, we must receive a certificate of liability insurance or a surety bond (see page 3).

Armed private investigators attend an eight-hour firearms certification course certified by the Criminal Justice Training 
Commission (CJTC), telephone (206) 835-7300. When you complete the firearms training, they will issue a certificate. 
We cannot issue you an armed endorsement until we receive your firearms certificate. RCW 18.170.040(c)

Applicant authorization and certification

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

_________________________________________ 	 _ ______________________________________________________________
Date and place	 Applicant signature

Once filed, this application is a public record and is subject to public disclosure. RCW 42.56

X

For assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, visit http://business.wa.gov/BLS or call 1-800-451-7985. Teletype (TTY) users may use the 
Washington Relay Service by calling 711.

Do you authorize all organizations and government agencies (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release any information, files, or 
records requested to this Department to process your application?.................................................................	  Yes    No
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Private Investigator Company/Qualifying Principal Application

General partnerships, limited liability partnerships (LLPs), and limited partnerships (LPs): Each partner of a 
partnership applying for an agency license must also complete and submit their own Private Investigator Addendum, 
pay the appropriate armed or unarmed partner fee, and submit the appropriate number of fingerprint cards with this 
application.

Corporations and limited liability companies (LLCs) applying for an agency endorsement must all attach:
•	 A list of names and addresses of all officers, directors, members, and managers
•	 A letter from the company’s governing or managing body designating the applicant as the agency principal

Acceptable proof of experience is certification from the employer verifying status and time of employment.

Verification of license or registration from another state or jurisdiction is acceptable only if that state or jurisdiction 
has licensing or registration requirements that equal or exceed those in Washington State.

Insurance and bonding: Before we can approve your endorsement, we must receive either proof of insurance or a surety 
bond. 

•	 If bonding is selected, the Surety Bond form enclosed must be completed and the original returned to us.
•	 If insurance is selected, the company must have comprehensive general liability coverage of at least $50,000; divided 

$25,000 for bodily or personal injury and $25,000 for property damage. The original insurance certificate must be mailed 
to us, but a preliminary copy may be faxed to (360) 705-6699. The certificate holder on the proof of insurance must read: 
Department of Revenue. Business Licensing Service, PO Box 9034, Olympia WA 98507-9034

Frequently asked questions
Q.	 How do I contact the Private Investigator (PI) Regulatory Program for information or forms?
A.	 You may write us at: Private Investigator Program, Department of Licensing, PO Box 9649, Olympia WA 98507-9649 

or call: (360) 664-6611 or TTY 711.
Q.	 Who is an agency principal?
A.	 The individual who, in order to own or operate the PI agency, must meet the minimum qualification of three years of 

experience or pass the state examination.
Q.	 How often are the examinations given for principals?
A.	 They are scheduled within two to three weeks after your application has been received.
Q.	 Where will I take the examination?
A.	 The exams are scheduled at the driver licensing offices listed in the Application. When the exam is completed, it will 

be returned to the PI program office to be scored. A letter with your score will be mailed to you approximately ten days 
after you take the exam.

Q.	 How do I get rescheduled if I don’t pass?
A.	 A reexamination application will be mailed to you with your exam results.
Q.	 How often can I take the exam?
A.	 There is no limit to the number of times you may take the exam, as long as there are at least seven business days 

between each attempt.
Q.	 How do my employees get licensed?
A.	 Your agency must first be licensed. Employees are required to complete four hours of pre assignment training 

for a licensed, certified trainer. The certified trainer must sign the certification box on the front of the employees’ 
applications. Employees must be employed by, or have a job offer from a private investigator agency in order to be 
licensed. Contact the Private Investigator Program for forms.

Q.	 May I have a certified trainer from another agency give my employees the training?
A.	 Yes, provided the trainer is currently employed and holds a valid certified trainer license.
Q.	 How do I apply for licensure as a certified trainer?
A.	 Submit a Certified Trainer Exam Application with the $25 fee. You must show proof of having been licensed for at least 

three years. Contact the Private Investigator Program for forms.
Q.	 I’m working for myself and do not want to hire employees. Do I still have to get a company license?
A.	 Yes. Anyone who works as a private investigator must either be licensed as a PI agency principal, or as a private 

investigator employed under another agency.
Q.	 What if I conduct business at more than one location in Washington?
A.	 You can apply for an additional location at the same time as the main agency license by submitting a Business 

License Application for each location along with the Business License Application for the main location. 
Q.	 How do I apply for my business location outside of Washington?
A.	 All licensing requirements apply to out-of-state businesses. A physical location within Washington is required.
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Private Investigator Principal and Certified Trainer Examination Study Guide Outline

Washington State law as it applies to private investigator licensing and regulations: (45% of test)
•	 18.165 RCW
•	 308-17 WAC
•	 308-17-300 WAC - A list of all topics contained in the private investigator pre-assignment training course
•	 Chapter 9.73 RCW - Privacy, Violating Right of Privacy (example: Surveillance and Wiretapping)
•	 Chapter 42.17 RCW - Public Disclosure
•	 Title 9A RCW - Washington State Criminal Code
•	 Other resources:

•	 Title 2 RCW - Courts of Record
•	 Title 3 RCW - District Courts - Courts of limited jurisdictions
•	 Title 26 RCW - Domestic Relations (examples: marriage, dissolution, adoption)
•	 Title 36 RCW - Counties
•	 Title 46 RCW - Motor Vehicle (examples: accidents, forms)

Federal laws: (30% of test)
•	 Federal Privacy Act (5 U.S.C. 522A)
•	 Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C. 552)
•	 Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. 1681)
•	 Federal Wiretapping Act (18 U.S.C.)
•	 Gramm-Leach-Bliley (15 U.S.C. 6801-6809)
•	 United States Code

Court systems: (7.5% of test)
Federal courts
•	 Title 28 of the U.S. Code - Judiciary and Judicial Procedures
•	 Public Law 101-650 - Title 37 Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights

State courts
•	 Chapter 35.20 RCW - Municipal Courts
•	 Title 2 RCW - Courts of Record
•	 Title 3 RCW - District Courts/ Courts of Limited Jurisdictions
•	 Title 4 RCW - Civil Procedures
•	 Title 5 RCW - Evidence
•	 Title 6 RCW - Enforcement of Judgments

Legal procedures and definitions: (10% of test)
Terminology and definitions
•	 Title 9A RCW - Washington State Criminal Code
•	 Title 2 RCW - Courts of Record
•	 Title 3 RCW - District Courts/ Courts of Limited Jurisdictions
•	 Title 4 RCW - Civil Procedures
•	 Title 5 RCW - Evidence
•	 Title 6 RCW - Enforcement of Judgments
•	 Title 26 RCW - Domestic Relations (examples: marriage, dissolution, adoption
•	 Black’s Law Dictionary - Available at your local library or bookstore

Other resources of public information: (7.5% of test)
•	 Code Reviser’s Office
•	 County Recorder’`s Office
•	 World Wide Locator
•	 Secretary of State
•	 Computer Databases
•	 Federal and state laws and acts can be found on the internet

To view the laws, visit the private investigator’s website at www.dol.wa.gov and go to the Private Investigator 
Principal and/or Certified Trainer State Exam Study Guide.
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